Book Review: The Sin Eaters Daughter by Melinda Salisbury

21936988

Synopsis from GoodReads:

I am the perfect weapon.
I kill with a single touch.

Twylla is blessed. The Gods have chosen her to marry a prince, and rule the kingdom. But the favour of the Gods has it’s price. A deadly poison infuses her skin. Those who anger the queen must die under Twylla’s fatal touch.

Only Lief, an outspoken new guard, can see past Twylla’s chilling role to the girls she truly is.

Yet in a court as dangerous and the queen’s, some truths should not be told…

My Review:

This book I thought I was going to give up on in the first 50 pages, it was written so strangely. It was ridiculously slow and boring; since it was mainly back story. If only to read those pages, it made absolutely no sense.
Though once around page 150-200 hit, everything began and the story really began. It was a very interesting story, something I’ve never read before. Very folklore type of writing and back story.
Twylla is an interesting character, she is relatable in specific ways. She lives under a rule and role that’s been her life for so long. Knowing no better, she has her life laid out before her, to protect her own and others. By the means of death. I enjoyed reading her story and I hope there is another book.
What she is, is something I’ve never read of before, even in different terms. A Daunen Embodied; sent by the gods. The poor girl has no idea, until the end how much of a myth it all is. She’s give her life to nothing more than a lie, because one bitch of a queen is overrun with power. (I hope she did burn at Twylla’s request, after what she did.)
As for Merek and Lief, just like in other books written in this kind of storyline. In a kingdom with royalty and guards; I put my faith in the wrong one, though it’s a different kind of trust. Because both are bastards in their own unique ways.
The ending I like because Twylla actually choses her own life as oppose to what others want for her and from her. I have a lot of respect for her choices. Love is a funny thing
.

My Rating:

*** 3/5 stars

This entry was posted in book review, newer reviews, young adult. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

