Book Review: A Breath of Frost by Alyxandra Harvey.

16059442

Synopsis from GoodReads:

In 1814, three cousins—Gretchen, Emma, and Penelope—discover their family lineage of witchcraft when a binding spell is broken, allowing their individual magical powers to manifest. Now, beyond the manicured gardens and ballrooms of Regency London, an alluring underworld available only to those with power is revealed to the cousins. By claiming their power, the three cousins have accidentally opened the gates to the underworld.

Now ghouls, hellhounds—and most terrifying of all, the spirits of dark witches known as the Greymalkin Sisters—are hunting and killing young debutante witches for their powers. And, somehow, Emma is connected to the murders…because she keeps finding the bodies.

Can the cousins seal the gates before another witch is killed…or even worse, before their new gifts are stripped away?

My Review:

Everybody I have ever asked have never heard of this book, so I’m in two hearts of being excited because I’ve discovered a book no one knows about, or disappointed because it hasn’t got the recognition it needs. Which indefinitely is the latter, because all in all this book was amazing to read, it was very different from other witchcraft and magic books I have ever read. Not only is it set in my favourite era, but it has magic, witches and otherworldly creatures in the story as well. I love that familiars are included, because not many magic books that I have read do actually include them, so it was great to see that.

When I first started reading it-I gave up a little way through, which I really regret-but when I began reading again, all the adventure had begun and I couldn’t put it down. Despite the amount of chapters-65 to be precise-it is well worth the read, Alyxandra’s writing will blow you away, her writing is very unique, which I like.

The twins Gretchen and Godric were my favourite characters within this book, Gretchen reminded me so much of me, as did her brother. Her hiding in the library away from balls, meetings and dances is definitely something I would do. As for Godric, that certain something he finds out about his ‘gift’, then how he reacts.. Well I would definitely react the same way.

Emma on the other hand-the main girl of the story-I really couldn’t grasp onto her as a favourite, but she was still a brilliant character in all. She dealt with everything that was thrown at her, whether it be untrusted, hated, accused and hurt, she pushed it aside and dealt with the matters at hand.

The character I really liked was Penelope, she had the most wonderful ‘gift’ of all, even if her familiar is something that would put the frights into anybody. She was the character I expected to be the most sassy, yet it was actually quiet little Gretchen who had the one-liners and sass.

Sometimes it was hard to understand because the changes between perspectives of characters changed so quickly, that is was hard to realise it had changed. My favourite part within the whole book was Gretchen with pink-dyed dog and when Emma went of the ‘treasure hunt’ as I like to call it though the woods. I also took a great liking in the flashbacks to certain character’s pasts, to see why they are the way they are.

Endings of books are always suckers for me, because they always end up my favourite somehow, even if they are sad. Though as for this ending, I really did like the ending because despite everything that had happened, everything that they all went through together and everything that was yet to come, there was still a silver lining of hope for them all. Especially Emma and Cormac.

I would definitely recommend this book to those who love The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare, Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Liani Taylor and pretty much if you like magic or witchcraft.

My Rating:

***** 5/5

This entry was posted in book review, older reviews, young adult. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

