Book Review: Obsidian and Onyx by Jennifer L. Armentrout.

12578077

Synopsis from GoodReads:

Starting over sucks.

When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I’d pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring… until I spotted my hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up.

And then he opened his mouth.

Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something… unexpected happens.

The hot alien living next door marks me.

You heard me. Alien. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon’s touch has me lit up like the Vegas Strip. The only way I’m getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades.

If I don’t kill him first, that is.

My Review:

Spent the entire day reading this, and once again Jennifer doesn’t disappoint!
I’ve only read a couple of ‘otherworldly’ books, but this was brilliant and I loved it.
Daemon is a funny, annoying but one of those characters that grows on you. I can’t wait to see more of his ‘hot and cold’ flips with Kat! :’)
Kat I love how brave she is and how she won’t take any of Daemon’s shit! More people need to be like her! 🙂
Dee is the bestest of friends I’ve ever read of! Her and Kat have one of my favourite fictional friendships!

Best part of the whole book was the spaghetti, good lord. It was freaking priceless! 😀

My Rating:

***** 5/5 stars


13047090

Synopsis from GoodReads:

Being connected to Daemon Black sucks…

Thanks to his alien mojo, Daemon’s determined to prove what he feels for me is more than a product of our bizarro connection. So I’ve sworn him off, even though he’s running more hot than cold these days. But we’ve got bigger problems.

Something worse than the Arum has come to town…

The Department of Defense are here. If they ever find out what Daemon can do and that we’re linked, I’m a goner. So is he. And there’s this new boy in school who’s got a secret of his own. He knows what’s happened to me and he can help, but to do so, I have to lie to Daemon and stay away from him. Like that’s possible. Against all common sense, I’m falling for Daemon. Hard.

But then everything changes…

I’ve seen someone who shouldn’t be alive. And I have to tell Daemon, even though I know he’s never going to stop searching until he gets the truth. What happened to his brother? Who betrayed him? And what does the DOD want from them—from me?

No one is who they seem. And not everyone will survive the lies…

My Review:

Well I never expected that or saw any of this coming!
I knew there was something in the connection between Kat & Daemon, but I never expected what happened to the former. Just wow.
Kat seems to be taking it in her stride though, still trying to be brave and sticking up for her loved ones.
Daemon hasn’t changed a bit which I like, but it’s nice to see he has a softer side.

I really did not like Blake or Will from the off. They were both squiffy and strange, like they couldn’t be trusted. And I’m glad to be freaking right. They got what was coming to them in the end-death or not.
I’m glad Vaughn got what was coming to him too!

Though I did not expect the ‘dead person’ to be who it was I expected the other Black. And I’m completely torn about the ending!
Is this a good thing or a bad thing that Dawson and Daemon don’t hug properly?! It’s like shit is about to hit the fan!
Bring on Opal!
(I hope they save Mo too!)

My Rating:

**** 4/5 stars

This entry was posted in book review, older reviews, young adult. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

