Book Review: Rebel Belle & Miss Mayhem by Rachel Hawkins.

8475505

Synopsis from GoodReads:

Harper Price, peerless Southern belle, was born ready for a Homecoming tiara. But after a strange run-in at the dance imbues her with incredible abilities, Harper’s destiny takes a turn for the seriously weird. She becomes a Paladin, one of an ancient line of guardians with agility, super strength and lethal fighting instincts.

Just when life can’t get any more disastrously crazy, Harper finds out who she’s charged to protect: David Stark, school reporter, subject of a mysterious prophecy and possibly Harper’s least favorite person. But things get complicated when Harper starts falling for him—and discovers that David’s own fate could very well be to destroy Earth.

With snappy banter, cotillion dresses, non-stop action and a touch of magic, this new young adult series from bestseller Rachel Hawkins is going to make y’all beg for more.

My Review:

If you like magic, historical phenomena, badass heroines and lovely romances. You’ll love this book!

This book was so brilliant, and an interesting take on historical figures and information-if that’s what you could call them.
I loved that there was a ton of magic, phenomena and kick ass fighting. The storyline was interesting, and I liked the Paladins-how the ‘gift/term’ is passed on. How those and the Oracles, as well as the Mages are interlinked, it’s very clever. Definitely something I would never of expected to read.
Harper Price I adore. She’s absolutely lovely and I kept thinking her with the voice the southern fairy from Tinkerbell has. But nevertheless, I like that she’s dedicated to everything she faces, no matter what it is. Though I like that there are cracks in that armour of hers. She’s definitely a character girls can look up to, to be like her.
David Stark was the one I connected to the most; not to mention it was nice to see a character wearing nerdy glasses. (And not have to get rid of them when something ‘special’ occurs!) But I like that he’s quiet, conserved and knows the right thing to do. Even when it comes to Harper and Ryan, which is nice, that he puts everyone before himself, even Saylor.
Speaking of Ryan and Saylor, I despised them both at first, but at the end they grew on me. So I’m interested to see how Ryan adapts to Saylors gift giving.
In the next book I’m interested to see what’s happened to Blythe-strange name for a psychotic lady-and whether she’s making Bee’s loyalties change. I’m interested to see how they are together, as well as how the awkward trio-Harper, David and Ryan-work together.

My Rating:

***** 5/5 stars


22465605

Synopsis from GoodReads:

Life is almost back to normal for Harper Price. The Ephors have been silent after their deadly attack at Cotillion months ago, and her best friend, Bee, has returned after a mysterious disappearance. Now Harper can focus on the important things in life: school, canoodling with David (her nemesis-turned-ward-slash-boyfie), and even competing in the Miss Pine Grove pageant.

Unfortunately, supernatural chores are never done. The Ephors have decided they’d rather train David than kill him. The catch: Harper has to come along for the ride, but she can’t stay David’s Paladin unless she undergoes an ancient trial that will either kill her . . . or make her more powerful than ever.

My Review:

It’s taken me weeks to read this, and I can’t even remember starting it. Stupid uni work getting in the way!

But I did not expect it to end like that, I was expecting a happily ever after, but boy, did that make me fall into a puddle of tears.

It’s funny to think how sacrifice is so important in this book, and how the one person who needs to make it, doesn’t. And the one who needs protecting does.
Never did I expect David to pull that out of the bag, and make such a sacrifice. But I do wonder what he saw, in his vision that night. I think whatever it was had a lot to do with it.

Though now I wonder if there will be a third book, because I can’t let it settle that, that is how it ends for them all. I actually didn’t like this one as much as the first, but I’m a sucker for a nice love letter.

Question: They all go back to normal, doesn’t that mean David does too, or is he just like a magnet that pulls them all back into superpowersville if he gets too close?!

My Rating:

**** 4/5 stars

This entry was posted in book review, newer reviews, young adult and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

