Book Review: Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli.

19547856

Sypnosis on GoodReads:

Sixteen-year-old and not-so-openly gay Simon Spier prefers to save his drama for the school musical. But when an email falls into the wrong hands, his secret is at risk of being thrust into the spotlight. Now Simon is actually being blackmailed: if he doesn’t play wingman for class clown Martin, his sexual identity will become everyone’s business. Worse, the privacy of Blue, the pen name of the boy he’s been emailing, will be compromised.

With some messy dynamics emerging in his once tight-knit group of friends, and his email correspondence with Blue growing more flirtatious every day, Simon’s junior year has suddenly gotten all kinds of complicated. Now, change-averse Simon has to find a way to step out of his comfort zone before he’s pushed out—without alienating his friends, compromising himself, or fumbling a shot at happiness with the most confusing, adorable guy he’s never met.

My Review:

I want to give this book an 11/10!!
Words cannot describe how much I enjoyed this book. It was such a fun, romantic and a total coming of age story!
From the moment I started reading I couldn’t stop, I had to know who Blue was! Not to mention for a while now I’ve wanted to read a love story based on two boys, and I got my wish with this.
Simon is a great character, and I love that he wears glasses, and that he doesn’t like wearing contacts. I related with that! But he is what a normal teenage boy should be; curious, nosy, surrounded by friends and wondering where the hell his life is heading.
Blue is a character that keeps you on your bloody toes. I must of guessed his real identity so many times, but to no avail. Though in the end I was pleasantly surprised. There were a lot of “awww’s” and fangirling 99.9% of the time.
It is definitely a book I would recommend to those who love, love stories. And I completely agree with Simon; straight people should have the awkwardness of coming out too!

My Rating:

***** 5/5 stars (Wish I could give more!!)

This entry was posted in book review, newer reviews, young adult and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

