Book Review: The Mara Dyer Trilogy by Michelle Hodkin

11408650

Synopsis from GoodReads:

Mara Dyer believes life can’t get any stranger than waking up in a hospital with no memory of how she got there.
It can.

She believes there must be more to the accident she can’t remember that killed her friends and left her strangely unharmed.
There is.

She doesn’t believe that after everything she’s been through, she can fall in love.
She’s wrong.

My Review:

All the while reading this book I felt like I was just floating-I know that sounds strange-but just like the two main characters, Mara and Noah, especially Mara. Like how her story goes from past to present, then back and forth again.

Well I felt like when I was reading I was in a haze of what she’s feeling when she remembers something, or experiences something strange from her past. Yet when I stopped reading, it felt like I’d been pulled back into my present time, like when she did.
It’s an awfully strange, yet griping and thrilling story to read. The story and the ‘gifts’ both, Mara and Noah have, make the story interesting, but hard to explain why.

Mara I loved from the beginning, but just like her, as the reader, I felt lost. I was wondering what on earth was going on at times. It felt I truly was her and experience/witnessing everything she did.

As for Noah, I didn’t have an ounce of trust for him in the beginning. Which caused me to internally panic, since I thought it was going to be one of these cliche high school stories. So I was pleasantly surprised to find out it wasn’t. The guy grew on me.

Out of the two, I’d like to say I would prefer the gift Noah has. But honestly, I’d have a few choice people my subconscious would probably want Mara’s for.

Though I think Mara’s bearing her life and problems better than most ever would, in her situation. I’d lose my shit if I started seeing things; I could deal with everything else. Just not seeing things!

The ending! Oh lord, shit has hit the proverbial fan. I have no words, and now I’m panicking because Noah’s no doubt going to get all stabby!

In the second book I hope there is more of Jamie; he comes out with some hilarious stuff. I had to stop many a times due to his quotes and one liners! (And I hope Anna gets what’s coming to her! Horrible witch, she is!)

My Rating:

***** 5/5 stars


evolution_cover_200

Synopsis from GoodReads:

The truth about Mara Dyer’s dangerous and mysterious abilities continues to unravel in the New York Times bestselling sequel to the thrilling The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer. Mara Dyer once believed she could run from her past.She can’t. She used to think her problems were all in her head. They aren’t. She couldn’t imagine that after everything she’s been through, the boy she loves would still be keeping secrets. She’s wrong. In this gripping sequel to The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer, the truth evolves and choices prove deadly. What will become of Mara Dyer next?

My Review:

This book caused me to stay up at night, it freaked me out that badly!
Not because of the whole mirror melarky-which was a surprise-but of the creepy picture taking. Then entering the house, the freaking sleepwalking and all of the blood.
I honestly thought I was going to give up on the series, I was so tempted. Until… Jamie came back into it! I missed his weird sarcasm and humour.
Then what is with crazy phoebe, yeeesh, she has s few screws loose. The poor girl; no matter how crazy, she didn’t deserve what happened. I’m kind of in the same mind with Anna, she pissed me off to high heavens, but dying outright was a bit much… And actually quite subtle. I expected it to be more strung out.
And Jude. And Stella. Where are these ‘special’ people cropping up from?! As for Jude, he just won’t die. It’s very annoying!
I’m liking Mara’s strange little ‘before’ stories, even if they have put me off dolls all the more!
And poor Noah, it’s like he’s caught in the middle of it all-despite him being ‘special’ too-yet he’s just chose a side and stuck by Mara.
Oh, and I hope Dr. Kells gets kicked hard in her lady junk. That is all.

My Rating:

**** 4/5 stars


15768409

Synopsis from GoodReads:

Mara Dyer wants to believe there’s more to the lies she’s been told.
There is.

She doesn’t stop to think about where her quest for the truth might lead.
She should.

She never had to imagine how far she would go for vengeance.
She will now.

Loyalties are betrayed, guilt and innocence tangle, and fate and chance collide in this shocking conclusion to Mara Dyer’s story.

Retribution has arrived.

My Review:

SPOILERS AHEAD…ISH!

After all of the reviews and hear-say I heard about this book in the series, I honestly thought I was going to be a sheep and dislike it too. I even said so. Except I was happily surprised when I came to really enjoy it, in spite of all the in-depth information, back story and talks. The story came together in the end, which I liked, since a story like this I was expecting to be kept open ended. It not having a conclusive ending.

So much happened in this book, which was as expected, as it was the end really. Though I never expected those specific deaths, and even more, I never expected for them to break my heart so much.
To read that, and see it happening in minds eye; you try to put yourself in the characters position. I think that’s were the emotions rose from-trying to put myself in that situation. That one character needs more credit than they are given, because I don’t think I could do it.

There was so many quotes from this book-specifically-that have stuck in my head. Especially from the letters at the end. Those letters made tears escape. Mainly because after so much that had happened in the space of a trilogy, finally there was an answer. Their lives were finally pieced together and understood.

The way it ended put a lot of things into perspective soft me as a reader. To read the stories from the beginning, to be drawn in thinking we could possibly have the opportunity to be something more than just ourselves. Except no matter how ordinary or extraordinary we are, we are still that person. No changes, not ever. I really picked up a message of accepting yourself, and live your life like there’s no tomorrow.
Seriously, this series opened my eyes to so much. Which was something I didn’t expect.

My Rating:

***** 5/5 stars

This entry was posted in book review, newer reviews, young adult. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

