Book Review: Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas.

Throne_of_Glass_UK

Synopsis on GoodReads:

After serving out a year of hard labor in the salt mines of Endovier for her crimes, 18-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien is dragged before the Crown Prince. Prince Dorian offers her her freedom on one condition: she must act as his champion in a competition to find a new royal assassin.

Her opponents are men-thieves and assassins and warriors from across the empire, each sponsored by a member of the king’s council. If she beats her opponents in a series of eliminations, she’ll serve the kingdom for three years and then be granted her freedom. Celaena finds her training sessions with the captain of the guard, Westfall, challenging and exhilirating. But she’s bored stiff by court life. Things get a little more interesting when the prince starts to show interest in her… but it’s the gruff Captain Westfall who seems to understand her best.

Then one of the other contestants turns up dead… quickly followed by another. Can Celaena figure out who the killer is before she becomes a victim? As the young assassin investigates, her search leads her to discover a greater destiny than she could possibly have imagined.

My Review:

This book has sat on my shelf for months, and only yesterday did I start to read it, then today finish it. I couldn’t put it down! Usually this isn’t the type of book I would read, the more lore myths and stories behind kingdoms, but lately they’re growing on me.

Throne of Glass in particular has its own sense of flare and badassery. Never have I met a character like Celaena Sardothien; the woman has huge lady balls, it’s actually quite scary yet amazing how she intimidates everybody. The bravery and determination she puts forward, as well as loyalty, in this book is brilliant. She won’t give in, she won’t let anything stand in her way; I absolutely love that!

The way the storyline flows it’s brilliant too, it isn’t written in a complicated manner, and things that need to be explained are brought to light at the right times. Another thing I was impressed by was the fight scenes and training, they were written so well!

Another thing about this story I both like and can’t get my head around is choosing someone to ship with Celaena! Normally in books I find a ship or OTP in the first book, but this one I physically can’t. I’m on common ground with both Chaol and Dorian; they both have the attributes and traits of their character that make them unique to each other. Yet at the same time they are very much alike. If anything I enjoy the friendship between Celaena and Chaol, but I love the friendship between Celaena and Nehemia all the more!
Speaking of whom, I’m expecting a big allegiance and friendship to sprout between them too!

Im interested to see where the story goes now, after the King getting his grouch on and rambling off his rules towards Celaena. Though I do not trust the man as far as I can throw him, he’s a manipulative little man!
Mostly I’m interested in what comes next for Celaena, how her visions and dreams will lead her through what’s to come, where Nehemia fits into it all and lastly what will happen with Chaol and Dorian.

Also, I’m hoping Nox made it to wherever he disappeared too.

My Rating:

***** 5/5 stars

This entry was posted in book review, newer reviews, young adult. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

