Book Review: Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

41xTH4whq9L._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

Synopsis from GoodReads:

This is a world divided by blood – red or silver.

The Reds are commoners, ruled by a Silver elite in possession of god-like superpowers. And to Mare Barrow, a seventeen-year-old Red girl from the poverty-stricken Stilts, it seems like nothing will ever change.

That is, until she finds herself working in the Silver Palace. Here, surrounded by the people she hates the most, Mare discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy the balance of power.

Fearful of Mare’s potential, the Silvers hide her in plain view, declaring her a long-lost Silver princess, now engaged to a Silver prince. Despite knowing that one misstep would mean her death, Mare works silently to help the Red Guard, a militant resistance group, and bring down the Silver regime.

But this is a world of betrayal and lies, and Mare has entered a dangerous dance – Reds against Silvers, prince against prince, and Mare against her own heart…

My Review:

A book I never expected to like at all, but I couldn’t put it down.
The storyline I really liked-it reminded me of The Selection a bit- it was an interesting take on how the hierarchy system works between two worlds. Especially on terms of equal rights and everything. In a way, it was also like The Hunger Games in terms of government reasonings.

Mare is a character I enjoyed reading and watching he grow with each situation she faced and internal battle she had to deal with. She proves that no matter how much faith you put in someone, they can throw you under the bus at the drop of a hat.
I liked that she was the oddball, the difference in the system. She was the Divergent between the two worlds. I guess you could say.

As for the two princes; Cal and Maxon. I couldn’t settle on either from the start. It is a lot like the problematic situation in books where your conflicted on who you suspect is the bad guy.
Both of these two were shifty and distant from the beginning, but then I fell for it, just like Mare did. So I must say; Well done to Victoria!

I’m interested-and hope there is-a second book in the series. I want to see what happens with the Silvers now that shit has well and truly hit the fan. I want to see what happens with the Scarlet Guard too.
Mostly I want to see if one specific person can rise up against his own. If he can run their own legion, then he can help others.

I really liked he ending, for one specific reason. It made me cry all happy because of a certain surprise for Mare. ☺️

The only thing that was a let down was that the worlds were underdeveloped and not really described a whole lot-at least not to how I would prefer.

My Rating:

***** 5/5 stars


I loved this book and I am on teeter-tots waiting for Glass Sword to be released!

This entry was posted in book review, newer reviews, young adult and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Book Review: Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

  1. rowan my bae says:

    Mare is a character I enjoyed reading and watching he grow with each situation she faced and internal battle she had to deal with.

    “her grow” I think you mean? And yes there is a second book coming glass sword. The cover has already been released and 2 novellas are also coming our soon!

    Like

    • She’s definitely a character that grows on you! But who’s side are you on when it comes to the boys?!
      Yes, I wrote some reviews using my phone, so autocorrect isn’t nice! I cannot wait for book 2 and the novellas!

      Like

Leave a Reply

