Book Review: The Precious Stone Trilogy by Kerstin Gier

RubyRed

Synopsis from GoodReads:

Gwyneth Shepherd’s sophisticated, beautiful cousin Charlotte has been prepared her entire life for traveling through time. But unexpectedly, it is Gwyneth, who in the middle of class takes a sudden spin to a different era!

Gwyneth must now unearth the mystery of why her mother would lie about her birth date to ward off suspicion about her ability, brush up on her history, and work with Gideon–the time traveler from a similarly gifted family that passes the gene through its male line, and whose presence becomes, in time, less insufferable and more essential. Together, Gwyneth and Gideon journey through time to discover who, in the 18th century and in contemporary London, they can trust.

My Review:

I didn’t think I would of liked this book at first, but I persevered through the first through chapters. Then all of a sudden it started growing on me.
I love Gwen & Lesley. Though I want to punch a certain girl(s) in the face, I’ve never met more annoying characters.
Gideon is a percuilar character, but I think he is helpful for Gwen.
My favourite part of the entire book is the time travelling-obviously-but I really like what Gwen sees, that others don’t. And I just know it’s crucial and important!
I look forward to see what happens in Sapphire Blue; especially after how this book ended with Lucy and what not

My Rating:

**** 4/5 stars


12637458

Synopsis from Amazon:

Gwyneth Shepherd, 16, is trying to reconcile her role as the Ruby, the final member in the Circle of Twelve, a secret time-travel society, with being a normal London teen. Complicating matters are her feelings for handsome Gideon de Villiers, a fellow time traveler who gives Gwyneth mixed signals (he wavers between kissing her and ignoring her), and the secrecy surrounding the Circle, whose distrust of Gwyneth is both unfair and frustrating. And yet, through it all, Gwyneth is adaptable and engaging. As she makes secret trips through time to conspire with her much younger (and living) grandfather or asks a delightful gargoyle ghost to spy for her, Gwyneth uses her intuition and ingenuity to circumvent the Guardians, the controllers of time travel. After all, they’re supposed to be looking out for her, but their intentions are murky at best. As Gideon points out to Gwyneth, their lives are dictated by their supernatural genes; they will never be free from the confines of their birth, forced to stay local, so as not to be in constant danger. Hilarious and delightful, this latest entry explores new mysteries and raises new questions-just don’t expect any answers yet.

My Review:

It took me a little longer than usual to finish this book, but after all that had happened in this book I seriously have no words.
Shit is going down and I want to see how it all ends!
THE EPILOGUE!

My Rating:

**** 4/5 stars


emerald-green-dress

Synopsis from Amazon:

Gwen has a destiny to fulfill, but no one will tell her what it is.
She’s only recently learned that she is the Ruby, the final member of the time-traveling Circle of Twelve, and since then nothing has been going right. She suspects the founder of the Circle, Count Saint-German, is up to something nefarious, but nobody will believe her. And she’s just learned that her charming time-traveling partner, Gideon, has probably been using her all along.

My Review:

Well I did not expect it to end that way, I feel like a fourth book is needed.
Though the whole mystery is not who I expected it to be, but I guessed about the riddles and chronograph in the first book.
It’s definitely a book series that is for people with a specific taste, it’s not for everybody.
Though nevertheless I did enjoy it overall

My Rating:

**** 4/5 stars

This entry was posted in book review, newer reviews, young adult and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Book Review: The Precious Stone Trilogy by Kerstin Gier

  1. Gorgeous covers and excerpts! Thanks for sharing…and for visiting my blog.

    Like

Leave a Reply

