First Chapter First Paragraph Tuesday Intros

tumblr_inline_mquvzwc2tK1qz4rgp

First Chapter, First Paragraph Tuesday Intros
An event hosted by Bibliophile by the Sea!

Hello everyone!

So from now on, every Tuesday I will do my darndest to share the first paragraph-maybe even two-from the book I am currently reading or thinking about reading soon.

This week the book that I am going to start reading soon is Tell the Wind and Fire by Sarah Rees Brennan.

16221851

Clarion Books, April 2016.

Synopsis from Sarah Rees Brennan:

Tell the Wind & Fire is about a young girl called Lucie who lives in a New York very different from the New York we know: the city is torn between two very different kinds of magic, and Lucie’s own family was torn apart years ago by that conflict. Lucie wears magic rings and carries a burden of guilt she can’t share with anyone.

The light in her life is her sweetheart boyfriend Ethan, but it turns out Ethan has a secret too: a soulless doppelganger created by dark magic, who has to conceal the face identical to Ethan’s with a hood fastened by a collar nobody but a Light magician with magical rings can take off… and who introduces himself to both of them by, for reasons nobody can understand, saving Ethan’s life…

First Paragraph, and a little bit since it’s just a sentence:

It was the best of times until it was the worst of times.
We had never been allowed to go away for the weekend alone together before. So our holiday at Martha’s Vineyard was a rare and special treat, sweet only as only things that come seldom and do not last can be.
Those two days were long and sunshiny and warm. When I think about them now, I remember the pale amber of the sky at sunset, like light shining through honey. I remember the last time I was purely and uncomplicatedly happy, as I used to be when I was a child and my mother was alive.


So, has this made the list for anyone’s wishlist or anticipated reads? Let me know in the comments your thoughts!

This entry was posted in first chapter first paragraph tuesday intros and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to First Chapter First Paragraph Tuesday Intros

  1. Diane says:

    Oh wow, a new one for me — I really like that intro. Thanks for sharing this week.

    Like

  2. Literary Feline says:

    I hadn’t heard of this one, but it definitely is going on my wish list now!

    Like

  3. Love the connection to A Tale of Two Cities in the opening sentence. Although I rarely read books with magical elements, this sounds like a good one.
    Thank you for visiting my blog. Your comments are always appreciated.
    Sandy @ TEXAS TWANG

    Like

  4. This is not something I’d normally read, but I like the opening, so I’d keep going.

    Like

  5. The opening got my attention! Since it isn’t my usual fare, I’d read a little more before making a decision. Hope you like it.

    Like

  6. I do love the way the opening lines evoke a feeling of nostalgia for when things were lighter, better. And, of course, we can see how everything is about to unravel, and we want to watch, just as we might watch a train wreck.

    Thanks for sharing…and here’s mine: “MY SALINGER YEAR”

    Like

  7. I am not familiar with this author, but am intrigued.

    Like

  8. Clare says:

    I always like her writing and I love the A Tale of Two Cities-esque first sentence so I definitely want to read this one!
    http://dualreads.blogspot.co.uk/2015/09/tuesday-intros-and-teaser-tuesdays_8.html

    Like

  9. Beth F says:

    I’m on the fence with this one — but hope you enjoy it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

