Book Review: Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea & Between the Spark and the Burn by April Genevieve Tucholke

12930909

Synopsis from GoodReads:

You stop fearing the devil when you’re holding his hand…

Nothing much exciting rolls through Violet White’s sleepy, seaside town… until River West comes along. River rents the guest house behind Violet’s crumbling estate, and as eerie, grim things start to happen, Violet begins to wonder about the boy living in her backyard.

Is River just a crooked-smiling liar with pretty eyes and a mysterious past? Or could he be something more?

Violet’s grandmother always warned her about the Devil, but she never said he could be a dark-haired boy who takes naps in the sun, who likes coffee, who kisses you in a cemetery… who makes you want to kiss back.

Violet’s already so knee-deep in love, she can’t see straight. And that’s just how River likes it.

Blending faded decadence and the thrilling dread of gothic horror, April Genevieve Tucholke weaves a dreamy, twisting contemporary romance, as gorgeously told as it is terrifying—a debut to watch.

My Review:

This was most definitely a eerily beautiful book, with traces of horror laced in. At points I didn’t want to turn the page because I didn’t dare see what happened next.
It’s a brilliant story, very different an unique.
I’ve always liked the story of living in a house of the edge of a cliff, under the moonlight.
This brought that to life for me, with the darkness to match.

My Rating:

***** 5/5 stars


91VoLVvQD1L

Synopsis from GoodReads:

The conclusion to Between the Devil and The Deep Blue Sea, this gothic thriller romance with shades of Stephen King and Daphne du Maurier is a must-read for fans of Beautiful Creatures and Anna Dressed in Blood.

Freddie once told me that the Devil created all the fear in the world.
But then, the Devil once told me that it’s easier to forgive someone for scaring you than for making you cry.
The problem with River West Redding was that he’d done both to me.

The crooked-smiling liar River West Redding, who drove into Violet’s life one summer day and shook her world to pieces, is gone. Violet and Neely, River’s other brother, are left to worry—until they catch a two a.m. radio program about strange events in a distant mountain town. They take off in search of River but are always a step behind, finding instead frenzied towns, witch hunts, and a wind-whipped island with the thrum of something strange and dangerous just under the surface. It isn’t long before Violet begins to wonder if Neely, the one Redding brother she thought trustworthy, has been hiding a secret of his own . . .

My Review:

“But then, the Devil once told me that it’s easier to forgive someone for scaring you than for making you cry.”
It was a wonderfully in-depth sequel, that just got better and better.
To keep from spoilers: I don’t think things will go back to how they were a summer ago. The quote says as much, she trusted his glow, and he pushed it too far. He scared her, and caused her to cry.
There best be another book in the works! 😀

My Rating:

***** 5/5 stars

Advertisements
This entry was posted in book review, older reviews, short and sweet reviews, young adult and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s