Shelf Candy Saturday!

Book-header4Hello Everyone!

Welcome to my Shelf Candy Saturday; a weekly event hosted by A Night’s Dream of Books.

This is another weekly event I am hoping to try and take part in every Saturday. In this post I will be showcasing book covers that have caught my eye, that I find beautiful and want to share.


My cover choice for this week:

22895264Wicked by Jennifer L. Armentrout.
Paperback; 371 pages.
Publication date: 8th December 2014.
Published by Jennifer L. Armentrout.
Cover Design by Sarah Hansen.
New-Adult Fiction, Paranormal, Fantasy

I received this book as a 22nd birthday present from my best friend, Sophia. I’d heard about the book prior to receiving it as a gift, and the cover was one of the aspects of it that lured me in. So when I opened it the morning of my birthday, I fangirled like nobodies business because I am a huge fan of Jennifer’s writing and other stories. It now looks amazing on my shelf!

It mainly was the synopsis that drew me in to wanting to read this book, but the cover is nothing but beautiful. It really is contemporary and very otherworldly, which matches the story very well. The two models remind me very much of the characters in the story itself, and the red dress stands out spectacularly against the turqoise water background.
One of the main things I love about the cover that it blends the story into the cover, because of how the two sides of New Orleans in the story are portrayed. You have both the light and the dark, yet sometimes you have to find your way out of the darkness. Which on the cover the darkness blends up into the light, the surface at the top of the page. But all the time, the two models on the cover are always in it together. Protecting one another, with his arms around her, and her almost shielding him with her arm.

Ending my rambling about the cover, the way the ocean landscape/blending wraps around the entire cover is beautiful. It’s like the story; that ocean is like the situation in the book. It’s bigger than them, but they are the two that are in it together amist the chaos and trouble that lies within the darkest parts of the abyss.


What do you think of this cover?
Would you buy this book based on the cover?

This entry was posted in shelf candy saturday and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

