That’s what HE said Thursday!

cb_twhst21That’s What He Said Thurdays
An event by Chapter Break.

Hello again!

This week my blog will have been completely dead and I just want to apologise in advance to that, I didn’t have my laptop at hand. So I’m still getting the hang of making posts via my iPhone, I’ll get there in the end, just bear with me.

So if you didn’t see my post from last week, this is another weekly event I am going to try and keep on top of. Join me every Thursday as I post a favourite quote/dialogue/line from a book boyfriend to his heroine.

This week I have chosen Prince Maxon Schreave from The Selection Series, whos’ love interest is America Singer.

  1. “If this were a simpler matter, I’d have eliminated everyone else by now. I know how I feel about you. Maybe it’s impulsive of me to think I could be so sure, but I’m certain I would be happy with you.”
  2. “I do intend on giving you things, but that’s not what I mean. I’m going to love drawing-fan-art-the-selection-america-singer-Favim.com-2328871you more that any man has ever loved a woman, more than you ever dreamed you could be loved. I promise you that.”
  3. “If me dying meant you living, how could that be anything but good?”
  4. “My Dear America,I’ve never written a love letter, so forgive me if I fail now. . . .

    The simple thing would be to say that I love you. But, in truth, it’s so much more than that. I want you, America. I need you.

    I’ve held back so much from you out of fear. I’m afraid that if I show you everything at once, it will overwhelm you, and you’ll run away. I’m afraid that somewhere in the back of your heart is a love for someone else that will never die. I’m afraid that I will make a mistake again, something so huge that you retreat into that silent world of yours. No scolding from a tutor, no lashing from my father, no isolation in my youth has ever hurt me so much as you separating yourself from me.

    I keep thinking that it’s there, waiting to come back and strike me. So I’ve held on to all my options, fearing that the moment I wipe them away, you will be standing there with your arms closed, happy to be my friend but unable to be my equal, my queen, my wife.

    And for you to be my wife is all I want in the world. I love you. I was afraid to admit it for a long time, but I know it now.

    I would never rejoice in the loss of your father, the sadness you’ve felt since he passed, or the emptiness I’ve experienced since you left. But I’m so grateful that you had to go. I’m not sure how long it would have taken for me to figure this out if I hadn’t had to start trying to imagine a life without you. I know now, with absolute certainty, that is nothing I want.

    I wish I was as true an artist as you so that I could find a way to tell you what you’ve become to me. America, my love, you are sunlight falling through trees. You are laughter that breaks through sadness. You are the breeze on a too-warm day. You are clarity in the midst of confusion.

    You are not the world, but you are everything that makes the world good. Without you, my life would still exist, but that’s all it would manage to do.

    You said that to get things right one of us would have to take a leap of faith. I think I’ve discovered the canyon that must be leaped, and I hope to find you waiting for me on the other side.

    I love you, America.

    Yours forever,

    Maxon”

This entry was posted in thats what he said thursdays and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to That’s what HE said Thursday!

  1. Aaaaah, I have only read The Selection but maan, I need to get my read on! I already have The Elite so I’ll try to read it soon. Wonderful quotes ♥

    Like

  2. bookwormbrandee says:

    Holy wow!! This series has been on my radar for awhile…but it’s moving up in the queue for sure. Love *all* those quotes! Thanks for sharing some Maxon swoon. 😉

    Like

  3. Julie S. says:

    I haven’t read this series but the quotes are awesome! thanks for linking up 🙂

    Like

  4. Great quotes I haven’t read The Selection Series yet as well but I don’t know if this series is for me. But I might give it a chance and see if I like it or not. Thank you for stopping by my blog. 🙂

    Like

  5. Love this! I honestly feel like the only person alive who has not yet read The Selection series. 🙂 I really need to change that soon.

    Like

Leave a Reply

