Book Review: The Jewel by Amy Ewing.

22586252

Synopsis from GoodReads:

“Today is my last day as Violet Lasting. Tomorrow I become Lot 197.”

The Jewel is a shocking and compelling new YA series from debut author, Amy Ewing.

Sold for six million diamantes, Violet is now Surrogate of the House of the Lake in the centre of the Lone City, the Jewel. Her sole purpose is to produce a healthy heir for the Duchess – a woman Violet fears and despises.

Violet is trapped in a living death, her name and body no longer her own. She fights to hold on to her own identity and sanity, uncertain of the fate of her friends, isolated and at the mercy of the Duchess.

The Handmaid’s Tale meets The Other Boleyn Girl in a world where beauty and brutality collide.

My Review:

When I first ever read this book it was way back in November last year, so I just had to re-read it again so I got a grasp on what was happening in the second book, The White Rose. But just like the first time, I loved it just as much when I re-read it.

My favourite thing about this book is the world and society it is set in, it is very dystopian with a mix of myth and fantasy. How the city is set out into 5 rings of different parts including; the jewel, the bank, the smoke, the farm and the marsh is something I really love about this story. It really makes you interested in each section of the city and wonder how the political reasoning works; which you do learn as you keep reading on. When it comes to the jewel and how it links back into each section, especially the marsh, it is an interesting concept that Amy the author has come up with. It was the first book I ever read when it came to surrogates intertwined with a sense of magic, and I was hooked straightaway.

Other thing I love about this book and story is the auguries; I love how they interpreted into the surrogacy progress and how they are taught and controlled. Though I remember even as I read it the first time, I had that gut feeling that those gifts would become so much bigger than they are.

Violet, the main character, is someone who I think is absolutely amazing and so brave. She never loses sight of what she wants and never lets anyone get under her skin enough to change her path or beliefs. She knows what she wants and shes going to fight for it, no matter the cost. I think she makes a brilliant protagonist for this story because she really does give you her story, whilst showing every other step along the way and brings you into the adventure with her. Her stubbornness and adrenaline to keep going is admirable and she is a wonderful character to look up to and relate too. I also love how much her family and her friendship with Raven means to her, she won’t give up on either and that’s a beautiful thing. However, when it comes to the Duchess I want to know where she gets such strength from because when it comes to what she wants and what the Duchess and the Dr want, well she just keeps fighting! It’s the fight in her, the belief of knowing that will not be her life forever.

Ash, the man in all of this, well he is such a gentleman. The one thing I admire about this guy as a character is that he doesn’t push anything onto Violet, he doesn’t try to boss her around or rule over her. He gives her the freedom and the choices she needs to make her own way. Yet he is still there to stand by her because of how he feels about her, and he is still protective of her like any man in his position with her should be. The way they met is something that always makes me laugh because the chemistry between them is absolutely amazing, but when he finds out who she is, its like the ground opened up and swallowed him. Seeing his feelings torn in two is such a interesting thing to read, but I’m really glad he never gave up on her.

The way the story pans out really does keep you on your toes and you just cannot stop reading! Especially with all of the twists and turns, as well as how certain characters such as Lucien and Garnet fall into it all. They will shock you beyond belief. And the cliffhanger it is left on! JUST WOW! It’s like “Here’s a plot twist, but this is where it ends!”

My Rating:

***** 5/5 stars

This entry was posted in book review and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Book Review: The Jewel by Amy Ewing.

  1. Wow! I’ve never put much thought to this book but now I think I need it in my life! You got me all excited 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

