Book Review: The White Rose by Amy Ewing.

25431440

Synopsis of GoodReads:

Perfect for fans of The Hunger Games and Matched, this is the second book in the Lone City trilogy, following on from Amy Ewing’s shocking and compelling debut novel, The Jewel.

Violet, Ash and Raven have escaped the palace of the Duchess of the Lake, but Regimentals are hunting for them across the city. Nowhere is safe, and they are dependent on Lucien and his secret society for survival. If they can reach the safety of the White Rose then Violet may be able to help Lucien in his plan to rescue more surrogates. For one surrogate, however, it is already too late. Violet’s best friend, Raven, is pregnant. And in the Jewel, surrogates cannot survive giving birth.

My Review:

The first thing I found that I loved about this was that it followed straightaway where The Jewel left off, and it’s very rare that I can find a book that does this. So I love that it does this.

In the second book I love how Violet, Raven, Ash, Garnet and Lucien all work together, even if it is the strangest bunch of people. Especially when it comes to what happens at the start and how the adventure takes them away from the jewel and just out. Though when reading, I never expected a certain someone like Garnet to stick with them so much and help them so much. Nor did I expect the friendship/relationship he has growing with Raven. For the first part of the book I really enjoyed following the chase and adventure away from the royalty and down through each checkpoint as they go; it was interesting and exhilarating to see them do this; I felt like I was running down those streets with them, hiding away in the shadows and keep away from the regimentals. It’s one thing I love about these books and how Amy writes them, she pulls you into the story and puts you right in the mix with the characters.

From the start I kept wondering how the title of the story would fall into the book itself, so when you do come across The White Rose I was completely blown away. I cried so much when Lucien told Violet to ‘find it’ because in doing so she found herself in that little time of walking through the forest, which was beautiful. Following finding The White Rose, it was so so interesting to find out about Sils, who she was and her story; I was completely flabbergasted when she had a relation of sorts with the Duchess. It was like something Violet and Sils could bond over, along with the auguries. So when Sils taught Violet about what the auguries actually are and who she really is, well hands down that was phenomenal! I won’t write who they are because I really don’t want to spoil it, but just wow. As soon as I saw that other world, I immediately thought Atlantis!

Though another thing I loved about this book was in regards to the auguries and how nature links them together. I think that is a wonderful and beautiful because not only does Violet get to share that with Raven and Sils, but she can show Ash. She can show the world how powerful she really is, and when she teaches the others who come to The White Rose, well just yes! GIRL POWER!

BUT THE END! AMY HOW COULD YOU!! I will never give away the ending, you just have to read it, but I hope to god that someone holds her own. I really hope she is a fighter and I hope the other person doesn’t get what she wants. All I can say I am looking forward to is seeing all hell break loose!

All in all, I think the third book is going to be amazing because they have a revolution building now with their grouping of the surrogates, the black key and how they are all working together to bring the city to its knees. I also want to see the Duchess get whats coming to her, shes cruel and full of malice; she deserves nothing more than being killed slowly. I really don’t understand her motives, and I honestly think her constant complaining and pettyness throughout the book and into this one is, well, its just gone too far now.

My Rating:

***** 5/5 stars

This entry was posted in book review and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

