Book Review: Thief of Lies by Brenda Drake

9781633752214

Synopsis from GoodReads:

Gia Kearns would rather fight with boys than kiss them. That is, until Arik, a leather clad hottie in the Boston Athenaeum, suddenly disappears. While examining the book of world libraries he abandoned, Gia unwittingly speaks the key that sucks her and her friends into a photograph and transports them into a Paris library, where Arik and his Sentinels—magical knights charged with protecting humans from the creatures traveling across the gateway books—rescue them from a demonic hound.

Jumping into some of the world’s most beautiful libraries would be a dream come true for Gia, if she weren’t busy resisting her heart or dodging an exiled wizard seeking revenge on both the Mystik and human worlds. Add a French flirt obsessed with Arik and a fling with a young wizard, and Gia must choose between her heart and her head, between Arik’s world and her own, before both are destroyed.

My Review:

Firstly, to start off with I want to say I’m going to try and construct this review as normal as possible. Not only because this book is out of this world amazing, but because the author is such a lovely lady too. (But I can say, you will all know if you’ve read my other reviews that it will probably go off on tangents and I will ramble)

In the first place I would recommend this book to anybody who is a reader and loves fantasy. This book has everything from adventure and romance, to suspense and cliff hangers. In my own opinion I would honestly love to be able to jump and travel via library books, but I would suck so badly at being a sentinel!

The storyline of this book is one I love. I could re-read this book over and over again. The back story and flashbacks are something I really enjoy, as well as the lore of the fey and how it intertwines with the characters. It is a very unique story and not something I have ever came across, never have I seen a story where the essence of reading and the library have been involved.
Another thing that is amazing about this story is the character development of Gia; how she falls into this whole other world that has always been there, just she’s never known about it. That there are all these threats not to only the human world, but the world beyond the libraries.
The adventure is one I enjoy, and I really cannot wait for book two!!

Gia, the main character of this story, I have to say she is one of the bravest and most adaptable characters I have ever come across. She takes everything that gets thrust her way with a pinch of salt, with only a little freaking out for her part. Another thing I love about her is how loyal and hard headed she is to sticking to her own guns and what she wants, without listening to others. She does what she thinks best and follows her own instincts brilliantly. The way in which she adapts to all the newness thrust into her life, all the surprises and twists, she stays true to herself. As well as how no matter how much certain people come into her life, she doesn’t forget those who have been by her side since the beginning.

Arik, the male interest in the story, I have to admit I was glued to from beginning to end. And it isn’t even the end yet! He is British which I love, and is so relatable for me since I’m British myself. Not to mention he is very ‘on point’ with being British, Brenda wrote him so brilliantly as a British boy-all the way down to the way he acts and the lines he says. She had me at “I fancied you” because that is such a British saying and you always read “dating” or “I like you” instead. All in all, I really do like this character, he is very much the badass and protective male character that belongs in the book. The one everyone revolves around, no matter how hard they try to leave, and he is the prime example of the best Sentinel. This is something I love about his character, as well as how he has the vulnerability along with the bravery. It balances his character beautifully.

NANA IS THE BEST CHARACTER EVER!! I have no words for how much I love this old lady! She has sass, as well as the old lady confidence to flirt (Wink Wink!) Plus, come on, what kind of Nana isn’t amazing when she’s a tattooist while drinking tea!

Another couple of characters such as Demos, Lei and Kale, they all grew on me in their own way. Demos; I love his characters humour and how he knows how to piss people of by playing with them. How he playfully taunts with everyone, but really means no harm. Lei; I love her character because she’s so fierce, supportive and loyal of not only her fellow Sentinels, but of Gia when she comes into the picture. Kale; I love his character because of how he is so calm and wise, especially for a Sentinel. That he can keep a level head and be so selfless around danger, and doesn’t hold grudges against anyone.

The two best friends; Nick and Afton. Well I love both of these characters. Nick; I love that he is like a brother to not only Gia, but almost one to Afton as well. He sticks by her no matter what, no matter the craziness and downright impossible. The same with Afton; I love that she sticks by Gia and Nick, and how she is basically the bookworm and brains of the operation-on the human side at least!

The characters such as Veronique and Conemar; well I do just want to slap those two. Veronique reminds me of that feather duster from Disney’s Beauty and the Beast. Except Veronique doesn’t know the meaning of love or loyalty, she just likes to cause havoc and leave chaos in her wake. As for Conemar, he is just the biggest ass known to mankind-and every other kind. The trouble he brings, as well as the threat, is something I look forward to seeing pan out in further books because things are going to plummet!

The second book is going to be amazing, I just know it! Bring on more Sentinels, badassery, romance and the suspense!

My Rating:

***** 5/5 stars (I’m secretly giving a hell of a lot more!)

 

This entry was posted in book review and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Book Review: Thief of Lies by Brenda Drake

  1. This book sounds lovely, and your review makes me want to check it out! Great post. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

