It’s all coming up Shadowhunters!!

Hello strangers!

This is just going to be a random discussion of sorts, preferably more of my rambling thoughts of a favourite book series-turn TV show of mine.

Only a few months ago, in January did we get Season 1 of ‘Shadowhunters’ which is the TV adaption of Cassandra Clare’s series ‘The Mortal Instruments’. After the movie didn’t do so well, I personally think taking it to the smaller screen was a better option, as they can play around with more storylines and have more time to use as well. A story as complex and as full as this series cannot be complied into a two hour movie per book; it just isn’t going to happen!

tumblr_o3ej7uSm9R1v3jr7ko3_500.gif

Season 1 of ‘Shadowhunters’ I thoroughly enjoyed, and honestly can barely say a bad word about. Of course there are things I particularly didn’t expect or thought was a little different, but for a TV show like this to work, things have to be slightly off kilter. That is the only way for both us readers and non-readers to enjoy it all the more, stay true to the books and characters, but still give us that element of surprise and awe. The casting for the show was done perfectly, and I think they all brought to like their characters in their own way, but still sticking to the way Cassandra portrayed them in her books.

tumblr_static_tumblr_static_2yl7a43bu2w4kswswsoo8gcgs_640.gif

As Malec fan, I honestly think their relationship was done to absolute perfection. They made that slow build into something warm, loving, and even steamy at times. I saw the Malec that my mind’s eye saw when reading the books. Matthew Daddario (Alexander Lightwood) and Harry Shum. Jr (Magnus Bane) both brought to life their characters so bloody well, and they cocooned their relationship and growth beautifully. I’m anticipating where they will go in Season 2, especially after what happened at the end of Season 1. They deserve happiness, even if I do know what is coming. (At least from what we know from the books anyway!)

tumblr_o3ffe6uc921r2q072o2_540

Speaking of Season 2, it was only weeks ago we started seeing the photos the cast began uploading of their training, hanging out together and all round family-like activities. They are as much as the family as we fans are, and I think it’s amazing that they share their adventure with us, like how we share our ecstatic enthusiasm. If there is anything I am anticipating from Season 2 is, as known from above, a lot of Malec, along with hopeful appearances of the Seelie Queen and Court. Also, I am interested to see what is happening with Jace now that he’s on a crazy trip with Valentine, how the Lightwood’s and Clary are dealing with his sudden disappearance, and how the whole Camille situation is going to pan out. Lastly, as well as how things will go for Simon, Isabelle, Maureen and Raphael. I’m honestly just expecting so much drama! BRING ON THE FEELS!

tumblr_o4h2oki8BK1rkgjuro1_540.gif

So in honour of the beginning of shooting for Season 2 of ‘Shadowhunters’, and the fact that I honestly love this entire series-both book and TV-I thought I would run a giveaway!!

There will be ONE winner who has the chance to win both of these items:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

  • Giveaway is INTERNATIONAL!
  • The winner will be contacted within 24 hours of when the contest ends. If the winner does not respond within a 24 hour period of contact, the prize will forfeited and a new winner will be chosen.
  • This giveaway is NOT endorsed by authors, publishers or any other affliates.
  • The Bookish Emporium is not responsible for lost, stolen or damaged prizes.
  •  This giveaway will run until midnight (British Time) on the 28th September. Good luck to all who enter!!

Happy Hunting!!

This entry was posted in book tags, cassandra clare, giveaway, new blog, shadowhunters, Uncategorized, young adult and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

48 Responses to It’s all coming up Shadowhunters!!

  1. Anne C says:

    Amazing giveaway! I almost missed this, happy I saw your tweet. I haven’t seen this nor read the books, it’s crazy, but I would love to win the books and start diving on it.🙂

    Book series I love would be Harry Potter 🙂 and my current favorite tv series is Stranger Things.

    Like

  2. Fab C. says:

    Hi! Thank you for this amazing giveaway. My favorite book series is The Slammed series by Colleen Hoover. The Flash for TV series. ❤

    Like

  3. Sharon Steph says:

    Hi! Sharon here. I honestly can’t choose a favorite TV show or book, because I love too many, so I’m gonna talk about my love for the Shadowhunter chronicles instead. I discovered the books in 2013 and became obsessed with them 😍 my favorite character for TMI is Luke, because he’s a really complex character, not good nor bad. For TID I love Sophie with my life, she’s just too sweet and awesome, and I have all the reasons to love her. And finally for TDA my absolute fave is Mark.

    Like

  4. Shara says:

    I love reading it is my favorite thing to do. I don’t have a favorite book or series they are all my favorite. My favorite TV shows are Once Upon A Time, Agents of SHIELD and Shadowhunters. Reading has helped me a lot deal with my problems because when I am mad or sad all I do is read and I will feel better and become happy

    Like

  5. Thank you for this amazing opportunity! My favorite book series is The Selection series by Kiera Cass. And my favorite TV show is The Vampire Diaries. I also love Shadowhunters. Team Malec is ❤.

    Like

  6. Taylor says:

    Hi! My name is Taylor! The Mortal Instruments ( tbh the other shadowhunter series’ as well ) is my absolute FAVORITE series, book wise. I started readying tmi when the first book was released as my stepmom picked it up and brought it home and I got curious. I never thought that itd be my favorite series. The reason these books mean so much to me is because when the books were being released I was going through a really tough time, depression, anxiety, the works, and these books were a way for me not only to escape into another world but also a way for me to look forward to the future, waiting for the next book in the series to be released. It kept me here. They have such a sentimental meaning to me, especially now that im actively fighting my way out of those issues. I really look at these books and I feel so thankful for them.
    Unfortunately I do not own any of the books. I had to move out of my dads house to help improve my mental state and as they had bought the books for me, they kept them. Its been a few years and the still refuse to give them back. Normally someone would replace them but Im now a struggling college student who can barely afford food lol.
    Saying all that, Im very thankful for the chance to enter this giveaway, its such a kind thing for you to do~
    My favorite tv show is Criminal Minds btw…I havent had the chance to watch Shadowhunters yet ( im crying ) due to not owning a tv bc im broke but I WILL WATCH IT WHEN I CAN! I think bringing it to the smaller screen was totally a better choice, like you said. I did enjoy the movie but the books are huge, trying to fit that in a movie AND trying to please fans of the books would be nearly impossible bc theres so much thatd have to be skipped or taken out. Im very glad it got a second chance of becoming a tv show and im so excited to watch it!!

    Like

    • Hello Taylor!
      First of all, I want to say I’m glad you’re getting through that time in your life. I know the feeling of the whole student thing also, you can never afford anything! I’m wishing you luck for entering!

      Thank you for reading my blog post. It’s nice to know you agree with my thoughts! 😊

      Like

  7. imvalerie says:

    Hello! The shadow world is pretty much everything to me so my favorite books are TMI saga and my fave tv show is Shadowhunters lol.
    Thank you thank you for this giveaway I have been looking for the books with the new covers for so long. Btw I am obsessed with your portal, your dad is amazing.
    I’m asking Razuel for good luck!

    Like

  8. Aubree Cuip says:

    Hi, I’m Aubree! I discovered the shadowhunter world almost 3 years ago in the middle of my sophomore year of high school. I’m now a senior, graduating in May 2017 and I just feel as if I’ve grown along with this universe. I’ve watched it expand into depths I never thought possible when I first watched the City of Bones movie. The Mortal Instruments, The Infernal Devices, and Harry Potter are all tied for my favorite book series I honestly can not pick which one I like more than the other (although I do admit that I am more knowledgable on the Harry Potter series). I think my favorite tv series would either have to be Teen Wolf or Sherlock… It’s a hard decision because I have so many (just gonna throw in How I Met Your Mother and Stranger Things).
    Thank you so much for having this giveaway. Some people can’t actually afford to buy all the books for themselves and giveaways like this are wonderful opportunities!!

    Like

  9. Alba says:

    Hii, I’m Alba!! 🙂 First of all, I want to thank you for this amazing opportunity!
    If I’m being honest with you, my favourite book series is the Shadowhunters Chronicles. Every single one of its characters is special in some way and I love all of them❤. I really enjoyed Hush Hush and I like Shakespeare.
    My favourite TV series will always be TVD because it’s the first show I ever fell in love with and that makes it special! I’m enjoying Shadowhunters and I think the cast will slay us all in season 2!! I can’t wait for more Clace, Malec and Sizzy!! I started to watch Hemlock Grove and I really like it because it takes the supernatural drama to another darker level.
    I tend to love fictional characters more than real-life people, oops. (That’s the Herondale’s fault!)
    Well, I think that’s all!! 🙂 I guess I’m so into the supernatural stuff but who can judge me? Reality often sucks, to be honest!!
    I think I’ll invoke Angel Raziel to help me win this giveaway 😉

    Like

  10. Ivon says:

    I’m obsessed over shadowhunters they have showed me so much.
    The characters have made me a better and confident person.
    Thanks to shadowhunters I have become who I am today.

    Like

  11. Sofia Cristina says:

    Hey, the first thing I want to say is thank you for this amazing giveway! I hope I win this books because I don’t have possibilities to buy them. My favorite book series are absolutely “The Mortal Instruments”, I started reading books because of this book series! And my TV Show is too hard to decide but I’ll say “The Vampire Diaries”!

    Like

  12. Marsie Vetter says:

    Thanks for the opportunity to win these fantastic prizes. I think my favorite book series is The Infernal Devices, with TMI a very, very close second. My favorite TV series is Shadowhunters followed by Supernatural.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. zoeyriver says:

    No-no, it’s an impossible task to pick just *one* favorite book series.
    But… well, if I have to go with something, it would be The Mortal Instruments series – an all time favorite (:
    Which I do not own in physical copies which is why I’m in this *amazing* giveaway ^^
    Thank you so much for the chance!

    And for a favorite TV show… there are just so many.
    Doctore Who and The Vampire Diaries are an all time favorite (:

    Like

  14. Emma says:

    Wow first off thanks for a chance at such an amazing giveaway. The new book covers are stunning.
    Typically cliché here, but my favourite book series of all time is Harry Potter. They helped pull me out of hard place and reignited my love for reading and they’ll always hold a special place in my heart for that reason. Very closely followed by TMI and all the Percy Jacksons.
    My favourite TV series is hard. I was obsessed with Glee for such a long time until it started to go a bit downhill, but probably Buffy. It’s always the show I want to re-watch time and time again.

    Like

  15. Sylwia Osip says:

    Hello! 🙂 Thanks for the amazing giveaway!
    As for the books, it’s so hard to pick just one, but right now I’m under the spell of the book called “Will Grayson, Will Grayson”. But in general I live for fanfiction, so… 😀

    Like

  16. Hiya! Thanks a bunch for the amazing giveaway, I’ve been meaning to get dstarted on this series for a long while now so I’m hoping the odds are in my favor! I don’t really have a fav tv series but one I’m absolutely loving ATM is Stranger Things! As for books I adore anything by Melina Marchetta (not a series I know!)

    Like

  17. Thanks fr the chance at winning this awesome prize pack! The new covers are absolutely gorgeous and it’d be great to finaly getting around to reading this hyped series so I’m really hoping to win, fingers crossed!!

    Like

  18. Shadowhunterr1 says:

    My favourite book series are more than one. It’s TMI TID and TDA so far. I also like the fallen series by Lauren Kate. My favourite tv show is teen wolf but shadowhunters is on the second place

    Like

  19. Fay says:

    Thanks for the opportunity to enter such an amazing giveaway!
    My favorite book series is Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard and my favorite TV show is Scorpion!

    Like

  20. Well, I gotta say it´s “The Lord of the Rings” it changed my life, it was a breaking point for me (just as The Mortal Instruments a few years later) I read both series when I was comming through difficult times and they both make me the person I am today, they saved me and they teach me so much, everytime I re-read them I always learn something new! LORT & TMI mean the world to me!
    And as for my favorite TV show, probably Sense8, Vikings, Black Sails, Game of Thrones 😉
    Greetins Laura

    Like

  21. Hi! My favorite Books are the Harry Potter Series ❤ and my favorite TV series is The Vampire Diaries. Thank you for the amazing giveaway! 🙂

    Like

  22. Thank you so much for the chance – what a fantastic giveaway! ❤
    My fave book series has got be Harry Potter and my fave TV series is The Big Bang Theory 🙂

    Like

  23. Jane says:

    I’m soooo excited for season 2!! I’ve already got hundreds of pictures that are related to filming the new season, saved on my phone XD I’m just a tiny bit obsessed 😉 malec fanfiction is the only thing keeping my sanity in tact

    Like

  24. Joana says:

    Hello! 1st of all thanks for the amazing giveaway!
    Going to spind cliche given the giveaway theme but Shadowhunter Chronicles is actually one of my favorite books series. It means a lot to me, these characters changed me in ways I can’t begin to explain. I have many others, of course. Black Dagger Brotherhood by JR Ward, is another one.

    TV shows… I don’t really know which one is my favorite.. Maybe One Tree Hill.

    Like

Leave a Reply

